A Classic Look for Tuesday

I am in LOVE with looking classic. What is a “classic” look? It’s whatever you define, but I like to think of a classic look as one that is simple, not attention drawing, and above all comfortable!

Today’s classic look is a dark blue button down shirt with the sleeves rolled up half way, khaki shorts, and grey chucks with no socks. Take a look at the complete outfit:

I used to be a big fan of undershirts, so I used to wear an undershirt with all of my outfits. This outfit though, I chose to go without an undershirt. This creates a “V” with the shirt that allows more clavicle to be exposed. For me, an expose clavicle is not only sexy but allows my neck to look elongated and makes me seem taller.

The point of this outfit (and really all outfits) is NOT TO MAKE ME LOOK THIN. Not only do I think it’s completely contrived to try and look thin if you’re not thin (because, really, what is our concept of thin vs. our concept of health?) but it’s unnecessary. I don’t want to look thin. I want to look well put together. And this outfit, with its simplicity, allows me to look well put together. Of course there are features I don’t want to draw attention to (I’m still super self conscious about my chest), but I don’t do what a lot of other people do–I don’t direct attention down, rather I direct it up.

Main points:

1. If there is an area of your body you don’t want to accentuate, try accentuating above it if you’re tall. Tall people benefit by forcing people to look up at us, so by accentuating you upper features (clavicle, neck, chin), those features you don’t like as much won’t be prominent. For example, if you dislike your chest (or in my case, moobs [that’s right, no shame!]), exposing the flatter part of my chest and everything above it helps actually deflect attention to those moobs!
2. Roll up those sleeves in to a nice cuff! Pushing your sleeves up makes you look like you’re hiding something and draws attention to you upper arms–which is great if you’re proud of them. But, if your arms aren’t “perfect” (and even if they are), rolling the sleeve in to a cuff makes a clean look and focuses the attention on your forearms, which is great since they are mobile and probably look as fabulous as you do!
3. Don’t worry about looking thin. Looking thin when you’re not is pointless. Look stocky. Look husky. Hell, look fat. But above all, look well put together and like you care about your appearance. Your peers (and those who judge you) will care much more about that than whether or not they can see a roll or a moob.

One response to “A Classic Look for Tuesday

  1. Those are all great points! You always look put together or it just makes you look frumpy 🙂 LOVE your blog!

Leave a comment